[Previous] [Next]

21-1280.1.


21-1280.1.
   
                  POSSESSION OF FIREARM ON SCHOOL PROPERTY
                                      
   A. It shall be unlawful for any person, except a peace officer or
   other person authorized by the board of education of that district or
   governing body for any public or private school, to have in his or her
   possession on any public or private school property or while in any
   school bus or vehicle used by any school for transportation of
   students or teachers any firearm or weapon designated in Section 1272
   of this title.
   
   B. "School property" means any publicly or privately owned property
   held for purposes of elementary, secondary or vocational-technical
   education, and shall not include property owned by public school
   districts or private educational entities where such property is
   leased or rented to an individual or corporation and used for purposes
   other than educational.
   
   C. A gun or knife designed for hunting or fishing purposes kept in a
   privately owned vehicle and properly displayed or stored as required
   by law, or a handgun carried in a vehicle pursuant to a valid handgun
   license authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, shall not be in
   violation of the provisions of this section, provided such vehicle
   containing said gun or knife is driven onto school property only to
   transport a student to and from school and such vehicle does not
   remain unattended on school property. However, for the purposes of
   participating in the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife certified hunter
   training education course or any other hunting, safety or firearms
   training courses, the principal or chief administrator of any public
   or private school where said course is offered may authorize firearms
   or other weapons to be brought onto school property and used in such
   training course.
   
   D. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall, upon
   conviction, be guilty of a felony punishable by a fine not to exceed
   Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), and imprisonment for not more than
   two (2) years. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of
   this section after having been issued a concealed handgun license
   pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section
   1290.1 et seq. of this title, shall have the license permanently
   revoked and shall be liable for an administrative fine of One Hundred
   Dollars ($100.00) upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma
   State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the
   provisions of this section.
   

[Previous] [Next]