[Previous] [Next]

47-1107.


47-1107.
   
   A. In the event of the sale or transfer of the ownership of a vehicle
   for which a certificate of title has been issued as provided by
   Section 1105 of this title, the holder of such certificate shall
   endorse on the back of same a complete assignment thereof with
   warranty of title in form printed thereon with a statement of all
   liens or encumbrances on the vehicle, sworn to before a notary public
   or some other person authorized by law to take acknowledgments, and
   deliver same to the purchaser or transferee at the time of delivery to
   the purchaser or transferee of the vehicle. The seller may notify the
   Oklahoma Tax Commission of the sale, transfer or assignment of the
   owner's title or interest in the vehicle giving the date thereof, the
   name and address of the owner and of the transferee, and the
   description of the vehicle on forms provided by the Commission and
   signed by both parties. Upon receipt of such notification, the
   Commission shall appropriately file and index the sale, transfer or
   assignment. The purchaser or transferee, unless such person is a bona
   fide used motor vehicle dealer licensed by this state, or a charitable
   organization shall, within thirty (30) days from the time of delivery
   to the purchaser or transferee of the vehicle, present the assigned
   certificate of title and the insurance security verification to the
   vehicle to the Oklahoma Tax Commission, or one of its motor license
   agents, accompanied by a fee of Eleven Dollars ($11.00), together with
   any motor vehicle excise tax or license fee that may be due, whereupon
   a new certificate of title, shall be issued to the assignee. One
   Dollar ($1.00) of each fee shall be deposited in the Oklahoma Tax
   Commission Reimbursement Fund. Any charitable organization utilizing
   the exemption authorized by this subsection shall receive training as
   prescribed by the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission.
   
   B. A licensed dealer or charitable organization shall, on selling or
   otherwise disposing of a vehicle, execute and deliver to the purchaser
   thereof the certificate of title properly and completely reassigned.
   Thereupon, the purchaser of the vehicle shall present the reassigned
   certificate to the Commission, or a motor license agent, accompanied
   by a fee of Eleven Dollars ($11.00), and any motor vehicle excise tax
   or license fee that may be due, whereupon a new certificate of title
   will be issued to the purchaser. One Dollar ($1.00) of each fee shall
   be deposited in the Oklahoma Tax Commission Reimbursement Fund. The
   certificate, when so assigned and returned to the Commission, together
   with any subsequent assignment or reissue thereof, shall be
   appropriately filed and indexed so that at all times it will be
   possible to trace title to the vehicle designated therein. Provided,
   when the ownership of any motor vehicle shall pass by operation of
   law, the person owning the vehicle may, upon furnishing satisfactory
   proof to the Commission of ownership, procure a title to the motor
   vehicle, regardless of whether a certificate of title has ever been
   issued. The dealer shall execute and deliver to the purchaser bills of
   sale on forms prescribed by the Commission for all new vehicles sold
   by the dealer. On presentation of a bill of sale executed on forms
   prescribed by the Commission, by a manufacturer or dealer for a new
   vehicle sold in this state, accompanied by remittance in the sum of
   Eleven Dollars ($11.00), together with any motor vehicle excise tax or
   license fee that may be due, a certificate of title shall be issued in
   accordance with the provisions of the Oklahoma Vehicle License and
   Registration Act. One Dollar ($1.00) of each fee shall be deposited in
   the Oklahoma Tax Commission Reimbursement Fund. For purposes of this
   subsection, "charitable organization" shall mean any organization
   which is exempt from taxation pursuant to the provisions of the
   Internal Revenue Code, 26 U.S.C., Section 501(c)(3) and which is
   registered as a charitable organization with the Oklahoma Secretary of
   State and the Oklahoma Attorney General's office.
   
   C. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty
   of a misdemeanor and upon the first conviction thereof shall be
   punished by a fine not to exceed Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), with
   impoundment of the vehicle until all taxes and fees are paid. A second
   or subsequent conviction shall be punished by a fine not to exceed One
   Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), with impoundment of the vehicle until
   all taxes and fees are paid. If a vehicle is impounded pursuant to the
   provisions of this section, the vehicle shall not be released to the
   owner until the owner provides proof of security or an affidavit that
   the vehicle will not be used on public highways or public streets, as
   required pursuant to Section 7-600 et seq. of this title. Each vehicle
   involved in a violation of this section shall be considered a separate
   offense.
   

[Previous] [Next]