[Previous] [Next]

47-1121.


47-1121.
   
   A. When, at the time of registration of any vehicle, payment is made
   by check for fees and taxes and the check is not paid by the bank on
   which drawn for any reason, after said check has been presented for
   payment a second time, such certificate of registration and other such
   instruments issued at the time of registration of such vehicle shall
   be invalid. The motor license agent shall transmit all documents and
   the dishonored check to the Oklahoma Tax Commission for credit to the
   motor license agent's account. The Commission may enter into a
   contract for the collection of dishonored checks and canceled
   instruments. In all such cases, such vehicles shall be subject to the
   license fees and penalties provided in this act as though no attempt
   to register the vehicle had been made and the motor license agent
   shall charge the person issuing the check a fee of Twenty-five Dollars
   ($25.00) for each check to cover the costs of processing each returned
   check. An individual who subsequently purchases any such vehicle shall
   not be required, as a condition for registration of the vehicle, to
   pay any penalties imposed by this section.
   
   A mortgagee who repossesses any such vehicle shall not be required, as
   a condition for registration of said vehicle, to pay the dishonored
   check penalties which had accrued as of the date of such repossession.
   
   B. Whenever payment is made by check for any Oklahoma driver's license
   and the check is not paid by the bank on which drawn for any reason,
   after said check has been presented for payment a second time, such
   driver's license shall be invalid and all driving privileges of the
   holder of the driver's license shall be canceled. The motor license
   agent shall transmit the dishonored check to the Oklahoma Tax
   Commission for credit to the motor license agents account. The
   Commission may enter into a contract for the collection of dishonored
   checks. The motor license agent shall charge the person issuing the
   check a fee of Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) for each check to cover
   the cost of processing each returned check. The motor license agent
   shall transmit a copy of all documents associated with the application
   and issuance of the driver's license and a copy of the dishonored
   check to the Department of Public Safety.
   

[Previous] [Next]