[Previous] [Next]

47-1125.


47-1125.
   
   A. If the owner of a vehicle becomes employed in this state, the
   vehicle is deemed to be subject to tax in this state and, within
   thirty (30) days from the date of employment, shall be registered upon
   the same terms and conditions that resident owners are required to
   register such vehicles in this state. However, the owner of the
   vehicle who is employed in this state and commutes daily from an
   adjoining state shall be exempt from the provisions in this section.
   The penalty for failure to register the vehicle in the manner provided
   in this subsection shall be equal to the license or registration fee
   due, and any such vehicle may be seized and held at any time for any
   such delinquency and sold for nonpayment of the license or
   registration fees in the same manner that domestic vehicles may be
   seized and sold at any time of the year upon ten (10) days' notice.
   
   If the vehicle is detained by a law enforcement officer of this state
   and it is determined that the owner of such vehicle has failed to
   comply with the provisions of this subsection, a penalty of Ten
   Dollars ($10.00) shall be assessed in addition to the penalties
   previously provided in this section. This penalty of Ten Dollars
   ($10.00) shall be paid to the pension fund of the law enforcement
   officer, as defined in Section 1-147 of Title 47 of the Oklahoma
   Statutes, who detained the vehicle.
   
   B. Any student certified as a full-time-equivalent student by an
   institution of higher learning in this state and being a nonresident
   of Oklahoma, presently attending any institution of higher learning,
   shall not be required to purchase an Oklahoma license plate, provided
   that the state of residence of such student affords a similar
   exemption to Oklahoma students attending institutions of higher
   learning in such state. This exception for nonresident students does
   not apply when such student registers to vote as a resident in
   Oklahoma.
   
   C. Any vehicle, including a manufactured home, other than a commercial
   truck which is owned by a visiting nonresident and is properly
   registered in its native state for the current year and remains here
   for any period in excess of sixty (60) days shall be registered upon
   the same terms and conditions that resident owners are required to
   register such vehicles in this state. Any vehicle within this state,
   owned by a nonresident which is not properly registered in its native
   state for the current year, shall be registered under the same terms
   and conditions as such domestic vehicles are required to be
   registered.
   

[Previous] [Next]