[Previous] [Next]

47-1128.


47-1128.
   
   A. Every person manufacturing or having a contract to sell new
   vehicles in this state shall file a verified application for a general
   distinctive number for all new vehicles owned or controlled by the
   manufacturer or dealer; provided, the Oklahoma Tax Commission shall
   issue a license to sell such new motor vehicles only for those types
   of new vehicles for which the applicant has a sales contract or
   franchise; provided, further, that no license shall be issued to any
   applicant that has not complied with the provisions of Sections 561
   through 568 of this title and does not hold a current license issued
   by the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission pursuant thereto. A separate
   manufacturer's or dealer's license shall be required for each separate
   county within which such manufacturer or dealer has an established
   place of business and upon payment of a license fee of Ten Dollars
   ($10.00) there shall be assigned and issued to such manufacturer or
   dealer a Certificate of Registration and one license plate which shall
   be displayed upon each vehicle of such manufacturer or dealer when
   same is operated, driven, or displayed on any street, road, or
   highway, in the same manner as hereinbefore provided for vehicles
   owned by other persons. Such a manufacturer or dealer in new vehicles
   may obtain as many additional license plates as may be desired, upon
   the payment of the sum of Ten Dollars ($10.00) for each additional
   plate; provided that no such license plate issued to any manufacturer
   or dealer shall be used or displayed upon any secondhand or used
   vehicle, or upon any new vehicle which is used for a service car, or
   private use, or for hire. Any person, with consent of the dealer, may
   operate a motor vehicle, with the dealer's tag affixed, while
   contemplating purchase, so long as this intent is limited to a
   consecutive seventy-two-hour period, or a weekend. An individual
   holding a valid salesman's license issued by the Oklahoma Motor
   Vehicle Commission shall not be subject to this limitation. If such
   person also buys and sells used vehicles, he shall, after obtaining
   his new motor vehicle dealer's license from the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle
   Commission, also obtain a used motor vehicle dealer's license, from
   the Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, the cost of which shall
   be as prescribed in Section 1101 et seq. of this title.
   
   B. Each dealer and used motor vehicle dealer shall keep a record of
   the purchase and sale of each motor vehicle he buys or sells, which
   shall show the name of the seller or buyer as the case may be, and a
   complete description of the vehicle purchased or sold, and such other
   information as the Commission may prescribe.
   
   C. Application for manufacturer's or dealer's license must show that
   such dealer or manufacturer has not violated any of the provisions of
   this section; and such license shall be nonassignable; and any such
   license may be suspended temporarily or revoked by the Commission for
   violation or failure to comply with this section, provided, the holder
   of such license shall be given ten (10) days' notice of hearing to
   suspend or cancel such license. If any such person subject to any of
   the licenses required in this section fails to obtain it when due, a
   penalty of twenty-five cents ($0.25) per day on each such license
   shall be charged in the same manner as is now provided on delinquent
   motor vehicle registrations, and after a period of thirty (30) days
   such penalty shall be equal to the license fee. It shall be the duty
   of every person licensed to sell new or used motor vehicles to advise
   each purchaser in writing about his title requirements and payment of
   any taxes due. Each used motor vehicle must display a proper Oklahoma
   license plate or a used dealer's license plate. Dealers failing to
   comply with provisions of this section shall be responsible for all
   taxes due on such sales or on such vehicles.
   
   D. Every person engaged in the business of transporting and delivering
   new or used vehicles by driving, either singly or by towbar, saddle
   mount or full mount method, engaging in drive-away operations as
   defined in Section 3 of Title 85 of the Oklahoma Statutes, or any
   combination thereof, from the manufacturer or shipper to the dealer or
   consignee and using the public highways of this state shall file with
   the Commission a verified application for in-transit license plates to
   identify such vehicles. The application shall provide for a general
   distinctive number for all vehicles so transported. Upon payment of a
   license fee of Ten Dollars ($10.00) there shall be assigned and issued
   to such person one in-transit plate. Such in-transit plate shall be
   used by such person only on vehicles when so transported. Such person
   may obtain as many additional in-transit plates as desired upon
   payment of a fee of Ten Dollars ($10.00) for each additional plate.
   Provided, a used motor vehicle dealer shall use a used dealer license
   plate in lieu of the in-transit license plate for transporting a used
   motor vehicle and, in such cases, shall be exempt from making
   application for an in-transit license plate. Provided further, only a
   person who possesses a certificate issued by the Interstate Commerce
   Commission or the Corporation Commission to engage in the business of
   transporting and delivering manufactured homes for hire may use the
   in-transit license plates obtained by them as herein authorized for
   transporting new or used manufactured homes from one location to
   another location within Oklahoma or from a point in another state to a
   point in this state. Nothing contained in this section shall relieve
   any person from the payment of license fees otherwise provided by law.
   When the Commission deems it advisable and in the public interest, it
   may require the holder of any in-transit license, or any person making
   application therefor, to file a proper surety bond in any amount it
   deems proper, not to exceed Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00).
   
   E. The Oklahoma Tax Commission shall issue dealer licenses to new and
   used manufactured home dealers, new and used travel trailer dealers
   and new and used commercial trailer dealers.
   
   F. All licenses provided for in this section shall expire on December
   31 of each year.
   

[Previous] [Next]