[Previous] [Next]

47-1137.1.


47-1137.1.
   
   A. Except for vehicles, travel trailers or commercial trailers which
   display a current Oklahoma license tag, upon the purchase or transfer
   of ownership of a used motor vehicle, travel trailer or commercial
   trailer, including an out-of-state purchase or transfer of the same,
   to a licensed used motor vehicle dealer, wholesale used motor vehicle
   dealer, used travel trailer dealer or used commercial trailer dealer,
   subsequently referred to in this section as "dealer", the dealer shall
   affix a used dealer's plate visible from the rear of the vehicle,
   travel trailer or commercial trailer. Such license plate shall expire
   on December 31 of each year. When the vehicle, travel trailer or
   commercial trailer is parked on the dealer's licensed place of
   business, it shall not be required to have a license plate of any kind
   affixed. A dealer shall obtain from the Oklahoma Tax Commission at a
   cost of Ten Dollars ($10.00) a dealer license plate for demonstrating,
   transporting or any other normal business of a dealer. A dealer may
   obtain as many additional license plates as may be desired upon the
   payment of Ten Dollars ($10.00) for each additional license plate. Use
   of the used dealer license plate by a licensed dealer for other than
   the purposes as set forth herein shall constitute grounds for
   revocation of the dealer's license. The Oklahoma Tax Commission shall
   design the official used dealer license plate to include the used
   dealer's license number issued to him or her each year by the
   Commission or the Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission.
   
   B. Upon the purchase or transfer of ownership of an out-of-state used
   motor vehicle, travel trailer or commercial trailer to a licensed
   dealer, the dealer shall make application for an Oklahoma certificate
   of title pursuant to the Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration
   Act, Section 1101 et seq. of Title 47 of the Oklahoma Statutes. Upon
   receipt of the Oklahoma certificate of title, the dealer shall follow
   the procedure as set forth in subsection A of this section. Provided,
   nothing in this title shall be construed as requiring a dealer to
   register a used motor vehicle, travel trailer or commercial trailer
   purchased in another state which will not be operated or sold in this
   state.
   
   C. Upon sale or transfer of ownership of the used motor vehicle or
   travel trailer, the dealer shall place upon the reassignment portion
   of the certificate of title a tax stamp issued by the county treasurer
   of the county in which the dealer has his or her primary place of
   business. The tax stamp shall be issued upon payment of a fee of Three
   Dollars and fifty cents ($3.50) and shall be in lieu of the dealer's
   ad valorem tax on the inventories of used motor vehicles or travel
   trailers but shall not relieve any other property of the dealer from
   ad valorem taxation.
   
   D. Upon sale of a used motor vehicle or travel trailer to another
   licensed dealer, the selling dealer shall place the tax stamp required
   in subsection C of this section upon the certificate of title. The
   used dealer license plate or wholesale dealer license plate shall be
   removed by the selling dealer. The purchasing dealer shall, at time of
   purchase, place his or her dealer license plate on the used motor
   vehicle, travel trailer or commercial trailer as provided in
   subsection A of this section; provided, for vehicles, travel trailers
   or commercial trailers purchased by a licensed used dealer at an
   auction, in lieu of such placement of the dealer license plate, the
   auction may provide temporary documentation as approved by the
   Director of the Motor Vehicle Division of the Oklahoma Tax Commission
   for the purpose of transporting such vehicle to the purchaser's point
   of destination. Such temporary documentation shall be valid for two
   (2) days following the date of sale.
   
   E. The purchaser of every used motor vehicle, travel trailer or
   commercial trailer, except as otherwise provided by law, shall obtain
   registration and title for the vehicle or trailer within thirty (30)
   days from the date of purchase of same. It shall be the responsibility
   of the selling dealer to place a temporary license plate, in size
   similar to the permanent Oklahoma license plate but of a fibrous
   substance, upon a used motor vehicle, travel trailer or commercial
   trailer when a transaction is completed for the sale of said vehicle.
   The temporary license plate shall show the license number which is
   issued to the dealer each year by the Oklahoma Tax Commission or the
   Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, the date the used motor
   vehicle, travel trailer or commercial trailer was purchased and the
   company name of the selling dealer. Such temporary license plate shall
   be valid for a period of thirty (30) days from the date of purchase.
   Use of the temporary license by a dealer for other than the purposes
   set forth herein shall constitute grounds for revocation of the
   dealer's license to conduct business. The temporary license plate
   shall be affixed to the rear window of the vehicle sold. Purchasers of
   a commercial trailer shall affix the temporary license plate to the
   rear of the commercial trailer. The purchaser shall display the
   temporary license plate for a period not to exceed thirty (30) days or
   until registration and title are obtained as provided in this section.
   
   The provisions of this subsection on temporary licenses shall apply to
   nonresidents who purchase a used motor vehicle, travel trailer or
   commercial trailer within this state that is to be licensed in another
   state. The nonresident purchaser shall be allowed to operate the
   vehicle or trailer within the state with a temporary license plate for
   a period not to exceed thirty (30) days from date of purchase. Any
   nonresident purchaser found to be operating a used motor vehicle,
   travel trailer or commercial trailer within this state after thirty
   (30) days shall be subject to the registration fees of this state upon
   the same terms and conditions applying to residents of this state.
   
   F. It shall be unlawful for any dealer to procure the registration and
   licensing of any used motor vehicle, travel trailer or commercial
   trailer sold by the dealer or to act as the agent for the purchaser in
   the procurement of the registration and licensing of the purchaser's
   used vehicle, travel trailer or commercial trailer. A license of any
   dealer violating the provision of this section may be revoked.
   
   G. Dealers following the procedure set forth herein shall not be
   required to register vehicles, travel trailers or commercial trailers
   to which this section applies, nor will the registration fee otherwise
   required be assessed. Provided, dealers shall not purchase or trade
   for a used motor vehicle, travel trailer or commercial trailer on
   which the registration therefor has been expired for a period
   exceeding thirty (30) days without obtaining current registration
   therefor.
   

[Previous] [Next]