[Previous] [Next]

21-1277.


21-1277.
   
                      UNLAWFUL CARRY IN CERTAIN PLACES
                                      
   A. It shall be unlawful for any person in possession of a valid
   concealed handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the
   Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq. of this title, to
   carry any concealed handgun into any of the following places:
   
   1. Any structure, building, or office space which is owned or leased
   by a city, town, county, state, or federal governmental authority for
   the purpose of conducting business with the public;
   
   2. Any meeting of any city, town, county, state or federal officials,
   school board members, legislative members, or any other elected or
   appointed officials;
   
   3. Any prison, jail, detention facility or any facility used to
   process, hold, or house arrested persons, prisoners or persons alleged
   delinquent or adjudicated delinquent;
   
   4. Any elementary, secondary, or vocational-technical school property;
   
   5. Any sports arena during a professional sporting event;
   
   6. Any place where pari-mutuel wagering is authorized by law; and
   
   7. Any other place specifically prohibited by law.
   
   B. For purposes of paragraphs 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6 of subsection A of this
   section, the prohibited place does not include and specifically
   excludes the following property:
   
   a. any property set aside for the use of any vehicle, whether attended
   or unattended, by a city, town, county, state, or federal governmental
   authority,
   
   b. any property set aside for the use of any vehicle, whether attended
   or unattended, by any entity offering any professional sporting event
   which is open to the public for admission, or by any entity engaged in
   pari-mutuel wagering authorized by law,
   
   c. any property adjacent to a structure, building, or office space in
   which concealed weapons are prohibited by the provisions of this
   section,
   
   d. any property designated by a city, town, county, or state,
   governmental authority as a park, recreational area, or fairgrounds;
   provided nothing in this subparagraph shall be construed to authorize
   any entry by a person in possession of a concealed handgun into any
   structure, building, or office space which is specifically prohibited
   by the provisions of subsection A of this section.
   
   C. Any person violating the provisions of subsection A of this section
   shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a
   fine not to exceed Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00). Any person
   convicted of violating the provisions of this section may be liable
   for an administrative fine of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00) upon
   a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of
   Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of
   this section.
   
   D. No person in possession of any concealed handgun pursuant to the
   Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall be authorized to carry the handgun
   into or upon any college or university property, except as provided in
   this subsection. For purposes of this subsection, the following
   property shall not be prohibited for persons having a valid concealed
   handgun license:
   
   1. Any property set aside for the use of any vehicle, whether attended
   or unattended, provided the handgun is carried or stored as required
   by law and the handgun is not removed from the vehicle without the
   prior consent of the college or university president while the vehicle
   is on any college or university property;
   
   2. Any property authorized for possession or use of handguns by
   college or university policy;
   
   3. Any property authorized by the written consent of the college or
   university president, provided the written consent is carried with the
   handgun and the valid concealed handgun license while on college or
   university property.
   
   The college or university may notify the Oklahoma State Bureau of
   Investigation within ten (10) days of a violation of any provision of
   this subsection by a licensee. Upon receipt of a written notification
   of violation, the Bureau shall give a reasonable notice to the
   licensee and hold a hearing. At the hearing upon a determination that
   the licensee has violated any provision of this subsection, the
   licensee may be subject to an administrative fine of Two Hundred Fifty
   Dollars ($250.00) and may have the concealed handgun license suspended
   for three (3) months.
   
   Nothing contained in any provision of this subsection shall be
   construed to limit the authority of any college or university in this
   state from taking administrative action against any student for any
   violation of any provision of this subsection.
   
   E. The provisions of subsection A of this section shall not apply to
   any law enforcement officer or to any person authorized by law to
   carry a pistol in the course of their employment.
   

[Previous] [Next]